My Dirty Little British Secret

The Cast of Made in ChelseaIt’s no surprise to anyone who knows me that I am a huge fan of British television. Doctor Who, Skins, Miranda, they’re all wonderful and offer something uniquely different from American TV (which I also love, don’t get me wrong. If American TV was a person I would probably marry it as long as she let me have an open relationship with British TV… and possibly Canadian TV but that’s another post).

What I haven’t expressed public is my love for a British reality show called Made in Chelsea. If you’re from the States you’ve probably never heard of it. MiC follows around a group of extremely fabulous wealthy young people as they go about their lives in London’s most high end borough.

Essentially it’s Britain’s answer to Laguna Beach, The Hills, The City, etc. It’s filmed like a drama: no talking heads, no narration, just pure dialogue and action. I’m sure, like its American cousins, it’s partially scripted, but really who cares about that.

Wikipedia tells me that most of the cast does indeed hold down jobs, but don’t worry, you won’t be bored by that. Instead see the MiC cast go to polo matches and regattas, lunching in the middle of the day at fabulous cafés and drinking every night at the hottest bars of the moment. They’re always going to some party for someone’s birthday or business launch or whatever and I should hate them for doing things everyday that I’d have to save up for months just to do once, but I don’t. They are just so charming.

Of course these lunches and parties aren’t without their drama. Who’s cheating on who, who’s coming out, who ‘s spreading gossip about this other one. And I relish it all. You make look down on me for it, and I wouldn’t blame you. But I’m going to keep on watching, wondering if Spencer and Caggie (actual names!) will ever get together, and you can worry about if you actually saw Nancy Grace’s nipple last Monday.

Made in Chelsea airs on E4, Monday night at 10. It is currently in its second season.

Leave a comment

Filed under Made in Chelsea, Reality, Television

Leave a Reply

